Business Joomla Templates by iPage Hosting Review

Facts of Bhutan

Published: Thursday, 03 April 2014

Location: South Asia. With Chinese occupied Tibet to the north and India to the east west and south.

Area: 38,394 sq km

Capital: Thimphu, with a population of about 90,000

Form of government: Monarchy. Will become a parliamentary democracy in early 2008. The first general elections will take place on December 31 for the upper house and the first elections for the lower house will take place in February/March 2008.

Population: about 600,000

Time: UTC + 6. It is 11 hours ahead of the US standard time and 6 hours ahead of GMT. Bhutan has only one time zone.

Religion: Drukpa Kagyud Buddhism is the state religion and about 90 percent of the people follow it. People also practice Hinduism.

Language: Dzongkha is the official language. The medium of instruction in Bhutanese schools is English. There are about 24 dialects in Bhutan.

Currency: Ngultrum. The ngultrum is pegged to the Indian rupee and so is at par with each other.

Telephone Country Code: 00975

Districts: Bhutan is divided into 20 districts for administrative effectiveness. Each district is headed by a governor, called the dzongda. Airline: Bhutan has only one airline operator, the Druk Air.

Hits: 1844